About performing arts

Concerts & Recitals

Contact the Music department for further information about performances and events
All concerts below are open to the public, and free unless otherwise indicated. 

 

Wed 25 Oct, 19.00: A memorial concert for Alena Mitricova
Alena studied in advanced piano workshops at City Lit for many years and for this concert her classmates and friends offer an evening of much-loved piano solos. There will be a retiring collection for Macmillan Cancer Support.
Recital Room (101) 

Thu 26 Oct, 19.30: Basso Continuo: Paul Westwood & Chris Marshall
A tour de force of bass and percussion. BASSO CONTINUO [external link] play a powerful mix of contemporary grooves, melodic invention and atmospheric soundscaping. This is not to be missed.
Recital Room (101)

 

Our regular, free lunchtime recitals resume in November:

Thu 2 Nov, 1.00 pm: Alasdair Macaskill & Oles Klok pianos
Recital Room (101)

Thu 9 Nov, 1.00 pm: Eric Phung piano
Diploma examination programme
Recital Room (101)

Thu 16 Nov, 1.00 pm: Jazz ensemble                    Tutor: Della Rhodes
Recital Room (101)

Thu 23 Nov, 1.00 pm: Piano students' recital      Tutor: Chryssa Kasma
Recital Room (101)

Tue 28 Nov, 3.00 pm: Piano advanced recital
Southwark Cathedral SE1 9DA

Thu 30 Nov, 1.00 pm: Piano level 8                     Tutor: Chryssa Kasma
Recital Room (101)

Fri 1 Dec, 1.00 pm: Eric Phung piano
St Paul's Covent Garden WC2E 9ED

Thu 7 Dec, 1.00 pm: Chamber music                    Tutor: Gisela Meyer
Recital Room (101)

 

Wed 13 & Thu 14 Dec, 7.30 pm: City Lit Opera School: Ethereal Intervention
Scenes from operas by Mozart, Purcell, Handel, Gretry, Britten, and Gilbert & Sullivan
John Lyons Theatre
Tickets £8 via Eventbrite [external website], or cash only at the door.

 

>> Find out more about music at City Lit